Daum named Summit League Player of the Year

SIOUX FALLS – South Dakota State's Mike Daum was named Summit League Men's Basketball Player of the Year, announced Thursday by league officials at a pre-tournament press conference.

"This is a fantastic honor for Mike as well as the Jackrabbit men's basketball program," SDSU coach T.J. Otzelberger said. "Mike's enthusiasm, team-first attitude and unrelenting work ethic truly make him a unique talent. However, he recognizes above all that this is a team award because of the commitments his teammates have made in getting him the ball in spots where he can be successful."

The league's Preseason Player of the Year as well, Daum headlined the 2016-17 All-Summit League First Team after leading the conference with 24.9 points per game to go alongside 8.1 rebounds per contest.

"It's a great honor," Daum said. "I just have to say thanks to everyone who has supported me. I've got tremendous coaches and teammates that I'm lucky enough to work with every day, and fantastic family and friends who are behind me in everything I do. This year has been one to remember and we're excited to keep things going with the Summit League Tournament this weekend.”

With 773 points on the campaign, Daum broke Chris White's 25-year old single-season scoring record of 747 and is within striking distance of becoming the first Jackrabbit since Steve Lingenfelter (1980-81) to average 25 points or more in a season.

The Kimball, Neb., native has missed double figures only three times in 31 games this season and has scored 20 or more 23 different times.

On 10 occasions, the SDSU big man dropped 30 or more, and he currently holds the Nos. 2, 3 and 9 spots on the Jackrabbits' single-game record list with totals of 51, 42 and 39.

The 51-point showcase came Feb. 18 at IPFW and is the top scoring performance in the NCAA this year. It was also just the second time in 20 years a player finished with more than 50 points and 15 rebounds in a game and his eighth double-double.

Daum joined the school's 1,000-point club Jan. 21 against IPFW and has risen to 16th all-time in scoring with 1,291 career points. He ranks as the top sophomore on the NCAA's active career scoring list, and is seventh among active NCAA Division I players with a 19.9 points per game career mark.

Daum is now a two-time All-Summit League First Team selection after earning the nod last year as a redshirt freshman, a season in which he was also named the conference’s Freshman of the Year and Sixth Man of the Year.

Daum and Nate Wolters are the only Jackrabbits to earn Summit League Player of the Year honors on the men's side.

SDSU earned the fourth seed in the conference tournament and begins its run Sunday against No. 5 seed Denver. Tipoff in the quarterfinal matchup is 6 p.m. from the PREMIER Center in Sioux Falls.



First Team

Mike Daum, South Dakota State; Tyler Flack, South Dakota; Tra-Deon Hollins, Omaha; John Konchar, IPFW; Paul Miller, North Dakota State; Matt Mooney, South Dakota.

Second Team

Daniel Amigo, Denver; Garret Covington, Western Illinois; Mo Evans, IPFW; Marcus Tyus, Omaha; Dexter Werner, North Dakota State.

Honorable Mention

Darell Combs, IUPUI; Matt O'Leary, IUPUI; Albert Owens, Oral Roberts; Joe Rosga, Denver; Tre'Shawn Thurman, Omaha.


Trey Burch-Manning, South Dakota; Trey Dickerson, South Dakota; Mitch Hahn, Omaha; Matt Mooney, South Dakota; Bryson Scott, IPFW.

Player of the Year

Mike Daum, South Dakota State

Defensive Player of the Year

Tra-Deon Hollins, Omaha

Sixth Man of the Year

Dexter Werner, North Dakota State

Transfer of the Year

Matt Mooney, South Dakota

Freshman of the Year

Emmanuel Nzekwesi, Oral Roberts

Coach of the Year

Craig Smith, South Dakota

Video News
More In Sports