Brookings FCCLA shines at nationals

BROOKINGS – Brookings Family, Career and Community Leaders of America (FCCLA) members traveled to Atlanta, Georgia, for the 2018 National Leadership Conference June 28-July 2, joining more than 8,000 other members, advisers, alumni and guests from across the nation. The Brookings chapter sent 14 students. 

Last year, Brookings’ Andrew Rasmussen was elected as the national vice president of programs at the National Leadership Conference in Nashville. During Rasmussen’s term, he has traveled to Washington, D.C., Oklahoma City and many other cities to lead conferences, network, present workshops and speak to sponsors and corporations nationwide. After a successful year of serving the organization, Rasmussen along with the nine other members on the national executive council led their last national conference in Atlanta. 

Brookings had a very strong showing in competitive events. After a long year of studying and a hard week of competition, the Brookings Lifesmarts Knowledge Bowl team placed first in the nation. The members of the team included Charlie Wang, Abby Enevoldsen, Ainsley Powers, Joy Wu and Kendra Reisetter. 

For STAR Events, Skylor Ness received a silver in Chapter in Review Portfolio, Tessa Stoltenberg and Grace Tolman received a gold in Chapter Service Project Portfolio, and Ingrid Otterson and Natosha Vanderbush received a gold in Focus on Children. 

Brookings High School Principal Paul von Fischer was awarded the National School Administrator’s Award. 

The Brookings FCCLA chapter is very thankful for everything Dr. von Fischer has done for the organization and for placing an incredible amount of faith in CTE and FCCLA. 

“Thank you for all your hard work and dedication serving Brookings High School and the South Dakota FCCLA board of directors.”

Courtesy photo: The Brookings Knowledge Bowl team, which got first place in national competition last month, is shown with several national FCCLA officers. Pictured, from left, are Caroline Caldwell (national vice president of competitive events, from Sterling City, Texas), Andrew Rasmussen (national vice president of programs, from Brookings), Joy Wu, Abby Enevoldsen, Ainsley Powers, Kendra Reisetter, Charlie Wang and Brigette Nelson (national vice president of finance, from Baltic).


Video News
More In Local