Architecture organization holds annual meeting

SIOUX FALLS – South Dakota architecture firms captured one American Institute of Architects South Dakota Honor Award and three Merit Awards during AIA South Dakota’s recent annual conference. 

The organization also chose its board of directors.

AIA South Dakota also honored Jay Vogt, retired director of the South Dakota State Historical Society, as its 2022 Champion of Architecture. Vogt oversaw the management of the five programs (archaeology, archives, museum, historic preservation, research and publishing) as well as the administrative and development units of the society.

AIA South Dakota also named Angela Boersma, AIA, principal architect and interior designer for ID8Architecture in Brookings, as its 2022 South Dakota Young Architect. Boersma has dedicated her career to the design industry as an advocate and educator, an adjust professor taking on administrative roles in academia and an active participant with AIA South Dakota’s Advocacy Committee. She has served for four years as a Brookings County Commissioner and has contributed to multiple national committees for the National Association of County Officials.

Sean Ervin, a senior-level executive for TSP Architecture and Engineering, and professor of practice and program coordinator for the architecture program at South Dakota State University was elected to the organization’s board of directors.

JLG Architects of Sioux Falls and Rapid City won an Honor Award in Architecture for the Dakota State University Cyber Lab in Madison.

Koch Hazard Architects of Sioux Falls won a Merit Award in Architecture for its renovation and addition for the National Music Museum in Vermillion. Renovations restored galleries originally used as reading rooms and upgraded staff operations spaces, changed out windows and repaired stones and joints.TSP, Inc. of Sioux Falls and Rapid City won a Merit Award in Architecture for the American Indian Student Center on the campus of South Dakota State University, a weaving of Native American culture with the more worldly needs of a traditional campus building. Interiors celebrate the dichotomy of sacred and profane with juxtaposition of fire and water, earth and sky, while the exterior takes visitors on an abstracted journey across the landscape of the South Dakota. 

CO-OP Architecture, of Sioux Falls, Aberdeen and Rapid City, won a Merit Award in Master Planning & Community Design for Friends & Citizens, a summer-long student design studio dedicated to designer led public policy discussion by combining the academic and professional world of architecture. As part of the program, licensed architects provided design students the tools and guidance required to complete a comprehensive design project.


More In State News