312 5th Street, Brookings, SD 57006 • Ph: 605-692-6271 • Fax: 605-692-2979
Current E-Edition

News Sports Court/Police Community Obituaries Calendar Publications Photos Home 

Eleven to be inducted into SD Sports Hall of Fame in April

Posted: Tuesday, Nov 27th, 2012

Golfing great Kris Tschetter and Olympian Rod DeHaven are among 11 people selected for induction into the South Dakota Sports Hall of Fame.

Also chosen were basketball coaches Gary Munsen, Don Meyer, Lyle “Dusty” LeBeaux and Curt Fredrickson. Other honorees are football-basketball-track coach Bob Schroeder, basketball player Harold Thune, softball pitcher LeRoy Carlson, referee Pal Christensen and football player/baseball coach James A. “Pev” Evans.

The 11 will be inducted at a banquet April 13 at the Sioux Falls Convention Center. Ticket information will be released at a later date. With this class of inductees, the hall will boast a membership of 236.

Tschetter lives in Warrenton, Va.; DeHaven in Brookings; Munsen in Mitchell; Fredrickson and Meyer in Aberdeen; LeBeaux in Porcupine; Schroeder in Sioux Falls; Thune in Murdo; Christensen in Yankton; and Evans in Rapid City. Carlson is being honored posthumously.

For the complete article see the 11-27-2012 issue.

Click here to purchase an electronic version of the 11-27-2012 paper.

Select Page:



Shoppe Hide


Copyright 2017 News Media Corporation

News    Classifieds    Shoppe    Search    ContactUs    TalkBack    Subscribe    Information    E-Edition    Business Portal