312 5th Street, Brookings, SD 57006 • Ph: 605-692-6271 • Fax: 605-692-2979
Current E-Edition

News Sports Court/Police Community Obituaries Calendar Publications Photos Home 

Four Dolphins earn All-Dakota Valley Conference in football

Posted: Wednesday, Nov 10th, 2010

Deubrook Area, Castlewood and league champion Dell Rapids St. Mary each put four football players on the all-Dakota Valley Conference team.

Four Dolphin seniors were recognized back Derek Trooien; and linemen Jacob Jensen, Jon Petersen and Derrick Sheffield. Senior back Justin Haber earned honorable mention for Deubrook, which finished 7-3 overall and made it to the Class 9AA quarterfinals this year.

Colman-Egan , Elkton/Lake Benton and Estelline each had three players make the list.

The Hawks had a youthful bunch, with three juniors earning recognition Tyson Rosenboom, Cory Staab and Austin Ross.

For the Elks, seniors Dexter VanDyke and Teron Olsen and junior Brant Tingle were honored . The Redmen had seniors Jordan Busch and Skyler Hervagault, along with junior Brady Linneman on the first team. Arlington and Oldham-Ramona /Rutland had two allconference selections apiece.

Seniors Jeremy Quam and Austin King represented the Cardinals, with seniors Alex Waba and Blake Menor making the list for the Raiders.

Isaac Wilde, a senior at Lake Preston, rounded out the selections .

Nine other area players earned honorable mention recogion Colman-Egan juniors Mike Bennett and Evan Lovro; Elkton-Lake Benton seniors Jon Barthel and Brandon Faaborg; Estelline juniors Dillon Freudenthal and Nathan Hervagault; ORR senior Austin Jensen; Arlington sophomore Lane Weber and Lake Preston senior Chase Casper. Warrior senior Trevor Sikkink earned conference MVP honors.

Dell Rapids St. Mary's Ross Flemmer was named Coach of the Year after the Cardinals won the league title with an 8-0 record. They finished 10-1 overall after losing in the Class 9B semifinals. Complete list:

Dakota Valley Conference football

All-Conference Dell Rapids St. Mary Andy Price, Sr.; Colby Bunkers, Sr.; Nick Bares, Sr.; Chris Lee, Jr. Castlewood Trevor Sikkink, Sr.; Garrett Karst, Sr.; Carver Ching, Jr.; Jordan Feyerisen, Jr. Deubrook Area Derek Trooien, Sr.; Jacob Jensen, Sr.; Jon Petersen, Sr.; Derrick Sheffield, Sr. Colman-Egan Tyson Rosenboom, Jr.; Cory Staab, Jr.; Austin Ross, Jr. De Smet/Iroquois Anthony Halverson, Sr.; Cam Garry, Sr.; Matt Anderson, Sr. Elkton/Lake Benton Dexter VanDyke, Sr.; Brant Tingle, Jr.; Teron Olsen, Sr. Estelline Brady Linneman, Jr.; Jordan Busch, Sr.; Skyler Hervagault, Sr. Arlington Jeremy Quam, Sr.; Austin King, Sr. Oldham-Ramona /Rutland Alex Waba, Sr.; Blake Menor, Sr. Lake Preston Isaac Wilde, Sr. Honorable Mention Dell Rapids Sr. Mary Lee Hoffman, Jr.; Jason Michel, Jr. Castlewood Austin Crocker, Jr. Deubrook Area Justin Haber, Sr. Colman-Egan Mike Bennett, Jr.; Evan Lovro, Jr. De Smet/Iroquois Dillon Coughlin, Jr.; Eric Schoenfelder, Jr. Elkton/Lake Benton Jon Barthel, Sr.; Brandon Faaborg, Sr. Estelline Dillon Freudenthal, Jr.; Nathan Hervagault, Jr. Arlington Lane Weber, So. Oldhamd-Ramona /Rutland Austin Jensen, Sr. Lake Preston Chase Casper, Sr. MVP Trevor Sikkink, Sr., Castlewood Coach of the Year Ross Flemmer, Dell Rapids St. Mary Conference champion Dell Rapids St. Mary (8-0 )

Select Page:



Shoppe Hide


Copyright 2017 News Media Corporation

News    Classifieds    Shoppe    Search    ContactUs    TalkBack    Subscribe    Information    E-Edition    Business Portal