312 5th Street, Brookings, SD 57006 • Ph: 605-692-6271 • Fax: 605-692-2979
Current E-Edition

News Sports Court/Police Community Obituaries Calendar Publications Photos Home 

Mickelson remembered 20 years later

Posted: Friday, Apr 19th, 2013

George S. Mickelson

Daugaard honors 8 killed in 1993 plane crash

PIERRE Gov. Dennis Daugaard has declared Friday "A Day of Remembrance" to honor Gov. George S. Mickelson and seven others who died in a plane crash 20 years ago.

The eight men were returning from Cincinnati, where they had traveled in an ultimately successful effort to save the John Morrell and Co. packing plant in Sioux Falls.

In addition to Mickelson, the April 19, 1993, crash in eastern Iowa also killed Roger Hainje of the Sioux Falls Development Foundation, David Birkeland of First Bank of South Dakota, Angus Anson of Northern States Power, state Economic Development Commissioner Roland Dolly, state Energy Policy Commissioner Ron Reed, and state pilots Ron Becker and Dave Hansen, both of Pierre.

Daugaard asked that all South Dakotans pause for a moment Friday to remember the eight men and their contributions to South Dakota.

For the complete article see the 04-19-2013 issue.

Click here to purchase an electronic version of the 04-19-2013 paper.

Select Page:



Shoppe Hide


Copyright 2017 News Media Corporation

News    Classifieds    Shoppe    Search    ContactUs    TalkBack    Subscribe    Information    E-Edition    Business Portal